Trim Healthy Mama

Trim Healthy Mama

As I mentioned a few posts ago, I have been reading the book Trim Healthy Mama.  The whole idea behind THM is

never include large amounts of both fats and carbs in the same meal unless you are trying to gain or maintain weight.”

There are several meal types that you choose from when eating to help your body burn fat. All meals are protein centered, and low or moderate carbohydrates and high or low fat depending on which type of meal you are eating. You are supposed to eat 2 1/2 – 3 hours apart, to make sure that you are not mixing fuel types (glucose for carbs, and fat for fat.)

“S” meals are satisfying: they include liberal amounts of fat along with a protein centered meal, and little carbohydrates – think 6-8 net carbs. This would be any of the Fast Track meals, really. Eggs for breakfast, chicken or meat and salad or veggies at lunch and dinner.

“E” meals are energizing: they include a moderate amount of carbohydrates (think 45 net carbs or less) along with a protein centered meal, with no more than 1 tsp added fats. This would be original belly fat cure meals – sandwiches, pasta or grains with meats, but without the cheese or fatty cuts of meat. I think of these meals like Weight Watchers,  I suppose, since I remember trying to limit my fats when using that program.

“Fuel pull” meals are low carb, low fat, protein centered meals, where there is no fuel source (think 1 tsp or less fat, and no carb source.)

“s helper” meals are “S” meals with a little carb – 15 net max. This is a smaller amount of carbs than an “E’ meal.

“crossover’ meals are equal in distribution with fats and carbs, and are reserved for special occasions and maintenance meals. In other words, no weight loss. This is how we should feed our kids – balanced. If we don’t want to lose weight, we would eat more crossover meals.

That is the plan in a nutshell. I am intrigued by the book and by this plan. There are so many of my treats and meals in this book! Minute muffins, flax crackers, coconut flour, almond flour, homemade chocolate with stevia, S meals, that all fits with foods that I have been eating for the last year and a half! The change up is those E meals.- I have found in the past that when I eat lots of carbs in my meals, I gain weight. Now I wonder if it’s because I always accompanied them with some kind of fat source. I can’t help but wonder if that was a part of the issue.

Since I am very close to my end goal weight, I have no need to change my diet significantly now but I have been keeping track to see what kinds of meals I usually eat – it’s S and S helper meals mostly. Every now and then I plan to throw an “E” meal into a day, because it makes sense to me that our bodies might need a change to keep the metabolism fired up. The allure to me going forward is the possibility that if I eat say popcorn without butter that it won’t cause the same type of weight gain that it might cause if I put butter on it.  Or I could eat a slice of toast with jam instead of peanut butter. Or a bowl of oatmeal with berries instead of coconut oil.  I wonder if it will help my  weight stay more stable as I add carbs in going forward if I limit eating them to meals where I do not eat fat. Does anyone have any experience they’d like to share regarding this?

I recommend this book to anyone who is looking for a new start to their diet, a new way to look at food. Also, go look at their Facebook page. for more info.

About Dawn

I have lost a total of 80 pounds and kept it off for the last 2 1/2 years. I am following the Trim Healthy Mama principals to maintain my weight loss and enjoy what I eat in moderation!
This entry was posted in diet, Trim Healthy Mama and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Trim Healthy Mama

  1. Interesting concept with the meals? I told my daughter about the book because I think it would be great for her too. I looked on Amazon and it was 35.00, and I am too cheap….especially since I should have learned all of that stuff in the “mama” stage:) I still haven’t opened my coconut oil that I bought about a year ago, but I have been seeing some posts about how it deep conditions your hair? May have to try it:)

    • dawn says:

      I find the book expensive too! I would love to buy it just to have all the wonderful little recipes in there, but I can’t quite get myself to do that yet. I had them buy it at the library so that I can borrow it, and right now I have that copy. Someone has already requested it! I wonder if it’s someone following the blog, or someone else! ;) Anyhow, I will just keep borrowing it from the library until I can’t stand it anymore. :) You are so funny about your coconut oil and flour – you need to open them and use them!!! It is really good, the coconut oil, for conditioning and for moisturizing. I use it on my skin and hair. Not every day, just when I feel I need it, which isn’t often. I’d rather eat it in my daily chocolate. :)

  2. Pattie says:

    Very interesting! I’m not sue my brain can handle all those meal combinations though. Alot to remember. Are these two nutritionists? How did they come up with the science behind this tpe of meal eating? Just curious if they say so in the book.

    • dawn says:

      I know what you mean, Pattie! It does seem a little overwhelming all at once, but once you put a picture in your mind to what each kind of meal looks like it’s not confusing at all. Just don’t eat fat with your carbohydrates, and don’t stay eating the same type of meal for too long.

      They aren’t nutritionists, just like Jorge’s not a nutritionist, just a couple of ladies who have done a lot of research ( a lot of the same research that I have done, actually,) been on different kinds of diets, and have found a way to eat that works for them and a lot of other people to lose weight. In the book they talk about stabilizing blood sugar, eating low glycemic, and the concept that all calories aren’t created equal, but that they do matter. The way they control calories and such is by changing fuel sources, because low fat meals are inherently lower in calories than high fat meals.

      The biggest change that they propose, that I’m not sure about, is the amount of carbs in the E meals – I feel like 45 net grams is a LOT. Maybe some people can eat that many, but I feel I couldn’t eat that many in one sitting without feeling funny afterwards. I haven’t tested it with no fat, however, so I can’t really say whether that would make a difference. As I type this out, I’m not sure at all that is a good idea, due to the immediate insulin response of pouring all that carb sugar into your body. Now I’m going to have to think about it. Hmmm.

  3. Rosalie Haggins says:

    Yeah I’m like Pattie – It seems a little overwhelming for me. I need stuff to be easy. But I have found we are all so different. What ever helps keep us healthy and at a good weight – right?
    Have a great day :-)

    • dawn says:

      You are right – whatever we need to keep us healthy, I agree. I’m happy with the way I feel and my progress thus far, so I don’t plan on making any big changes to the way I eat. This book is a good resource for a lot of the recipes that I use, but I find I can’t get past the amount of carbs they do eat in the “E” meals.

  4. waymel says:

    A friend recommended THM to me and I’ve ordered the book. I’ve been reading online about it (which is how I got here), and so far it just seems too complicated. Why not just avoid carbs and eat real food? I see people posting their meals on the FB group and it looks like they’re eating faux chocolate cake and flax meal stuff for breakfast, instead of eggs and bacon. I guess once I get the book maybe I’ll understand better. But for now, I wonder why it has to be so complicated, and why (like you say) anyone would want to eat that many carbs. And no fat with carbs? As in, no butter with your veggies? I’m doubtful, for sure.

    • dawn says:

      Thanks for stopping by my blog! I see the huge benefits of THM for people who have not yet started on their weight loss journey – learning to limit their carbohydrate intake and finding healthy alternatives to junk food. I know for me it’s great to have alternatives for breakfast, because I get tired of eggs and bacon, so having a good pancake or muffin recipe is necessary. It is also imperative that I have a good chocolate alternative. ;) I had discovered these items before THM, but I know that for a friend of mine it was life changing.
      I have added a few of the recipes to my arsenal, but have not embraced the ‘E’ meal yet. I have tried it a few times for breakfast, and got so hungry that I haven’t done it again lately. I haven’t given up on the idea, but I am used to combining my fats and carbs to even out blood sugar that I am nervous. I also am unsure of putting that many carbs in one meal (haven’t been able to do that in a long time.) I still wonder if keeping the meal fat free would work to good advantage.

      • Pattie says:

        Just saw this comment and I forgot to tell you that I ordered the book, took one look a it when it came, and said this is too complicated for me. So I returned it. I know the book has lots of stuff in it, but just too much for me to decipher and I know that it wouldn’t keep my attention. At least recognize my limitations!!!LOL!!!

      • dawn says:

        LOL Pattie! I don’t blame you at all – it’s a huge book! Their plan is more complicated than the BFC, for sure. Hope you are well. :)

Leave a Reply

